Shrektastic Birthday Party!

Chloe turned 3 in September and we celebrated with a family dinner, cupcakes at school, and lots of presents!  Like any 3 year old she wanted to have a party for her “school friends” … If I had to do it again I would probably hold off on the class parties until Kindergarten, but since I already established the party thing with Lilly I feel like I owe it to Chloe to have parties for her as well.

I’m also a sucker for a good party and I LOVE planning parties for kids.  I have often thought that if I ever made a career change, I would do party planning of some kind.  Financial limitations can keep me from doing all that I would like to do AND I am NOT crafty … like at all … so it’s tough to make some things happen with a lack of cash ( we just bought a house after all) and a lack of artistic ability … enter ETSY.  I’m addicted and I’m ok with that.  I have found some amazing artists on the ETSY site and I would rather give them the money instead of Party City or Walmart.  One of the sites I used is … http://www.etsy.com/shop/PaperHouseStudios.  Janelle is awesome and she was incredibly accommodating with my crazy requests.

We had Chloe’s party at a place called Kiddie Crusoe, if you are in the Baltimore Area and you have young kids, you should really check it out.  www.kiddiecrusoe.com  The kids can play pretend, run around on an indoor playground, or bounce around in the “jumpy things” as Chloe calls them.

several months ago Chloe told me that she wanted to have a Shrek themed birthday party.  She’s crazy obsessed with the Shrek movies and now the Broadway musical is On Demand so we have watched that a few hundred times!!!  I am used to Lilly’s pink and purple princess parties so a Shrek themed event was new territory for me.  Green and brown decorations?  Ok … let’s do it!

Everything came out exactly as I hoped and Chloe had a blast!  A Mommy can’t ask for more than that!!!

Chloe wanted a Shrek shirt … I had this one made at the MD State Fair at the Air Brushing Booth!

IMG_2690

IMG_2696

IMG_2706

IMG_2710

Cake and Cupcakes from Giant

IMG_2713

Cupcake Toppers from ETSY – website above

IMG_2715

Shrek Ears are from a Shrek DreamWorks event at the Gaylord National Hotel last year

IMG_2773

These are the signs I had made from ETSY.  The Invitations were the same design and they were all a big hit!

IMG_2808

Sweet Birthday Girl!

IMG_2789

Hope you have a Shrektastic Week!!!!